happy

I am a Christian.  I have been an active believer in local churches for all thirty-seven years of my life.  I probably fall toward the conservative side of the pew when it comes to tradition and doctrine, and I actively enjoy apologetics, eschatology, and inductive Bible studies.  And it is with a full heart that I can honestly wish everyone this year: Happy Holidays, Season’s Greetings, a Blessed Winter Solstice, Happy Hanukkah and/or Kwanzaa, and even Merry Xmas!

It has become very popular in the fellowship of believers these days to be cranky about such alternative salutations.  It is our God-given, or at least Constitutional, right to celebrate Christmas.  It naturally follows that we should be able to wish others a merry Christmas without being persecuted or stamped down for it.  I agree with these concepts.  But is it really the answer to beat others over the head with our merry Christmases and refuse to receive their best wishes in any other form?  I humbly submit: No.

It is unbecoming of us to post ugliness in the name of Jesus.  I don’t think He is offended by the fact that there are people out there celebrating other things at this time of year…especially when it’s not even the accurate historical date of His birth.  I don’t think that He cares if we abbreviate the manufactured name of the holiday down to Xmas so it will fit on a gift tag…especially since “X” has been used as His initial before.  But I do think He cares whether we actively love one another despite our differences.  Yes, I’m pretty sure I read that somewhere once.

I am celebrating Christmas this week, and so when I am out and about, I am wishing people a Merry Christmas.  A week and a half ago, I posted a message at work wishing people a Happy Hanukkah, and I will wish people a Happy Kwanzaa as I see fit next week.  I am not trying to be inauthentic or people-pleasing when I do this.  Rather, it’s the same thing as saying “Happy Friday!” or “Have a nice summer!”  I genuinely wish everyone – Christian or not – a day of blessing and positivity and progress down the path of meeting and fulfilling our respective destinies.   I’m praying that we can all just accept each other’s intentions and toss the semantics to the curb.

Merry Christmas, y’all.

What do you think?

