emerging

Why “write naked?”

defining naked (from wordnet.princeton.edu):
1. bare: completely unclothed; “naked from the waist up”
2. having no protecting or concealing cover; “naked to mine enemies”- Shakespeare
3. without the aid of an optical or acoustical device or instrument; “visible to the naked eye”
4. devoid of elaboration or diminution or concealment; bare and pure; “naked ambition”
5. lacking any cover; “naked branches of the trees”

This is me here.  I am uncovered, exposed, vulnerable, and unaided.  I am also free – free to write however I want.  I could be sitting in a bookstore, laboring at my desk, or sprawled out on my bed, clothing optional.  It’s all up to me.

Naked should be easy, but it’s not.  Sure, I was born naked, but I’ve had 33 1/2 years to layer up with upbringing, expectation, fear, vice, pain, comfort…  This is an exercise, a discipline, and I know that “no discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful.  Later on, however, it produces a harvest…for those who have been trained by it” (Heb. 12).

So here I am and thanks for coming to visit.  I want to apologize and ensure you that future posts will be a bit more light-hearted and entertaining, but I won’t.  This is me right now.  This is naked.  And I think I am going to like it…

One thought on “emerging

What do you think?

